Why Hire a DUI Lawyer in Northern Virginia?

Believe it or not, whether you haven’t had a sip of alcohol that day or maybe you were taking medication that caused you to perform poorly in a breathalyzer or field sobriety test, it’s still possible to get charged for driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), or in some states, driving while impaired. Being charged with a DUI or DWI is a serious charge that you should act quickly on to avoid potential jail time, hefty fines, a license suspension, and even termination from your current job. Finding the best DUI defense attorney will ensure that you receive a more favorable outcome.

Are you being charged with a DUI and unsure of what to do? If this your first DUI charge, don’t worry because Tesler & Werblood lawyers have you covered. It’s always best to seek legal advice for any charge or possible conviction situation you may find yourself in. This will help you make sure that you understand your rights and what you can do to prove you are innocent or obtain the best possible disposition of the case. Before you seek legal help, it’s important to know what a DUI charge is and what it may mean for you and your future. Below we have provided general information regarding a DUI charge and its potential consequences.

What is a DUI/DWI?

Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while impaired (DWI) are often confusing and misunderstood. In Virginia, these terms have the same meaning and are used interchangeably. While the legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level is less than 0.07, a person who is operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or higher is considered to be driving while intoxicated. Whatever your situation may be, it would be wise to seek legal DUI defense services to make sure you know all of your options to avoid severe penalties.

What are the Consequences of a DUI?

There are many consequences attached to a DUI. The severity of a penalty depends on a variety of factors: how many DUI offenses a person has had, whether or not a minor was present, and your BAC level at the time you were charged. For example, first-time offenses are considered misdemeanors and may include fines that range from $250 to $2500, a one-year suspension of your driver’s license, and a requirement to complete an alcohol safety course. If your BAC level is higher than 0.15, then there is a mandatory sentence of five days in jail. A DUI conviction can result in financial hardship, increased insurance rates, and potentially loss of employment. If you get professional assistance from a DUI defense attorney, you may be able to alleviate some consequences or your DUI charge might possibly be dismissed entirely.

Hire An Experienced DUI Lawyer in Northern Virginia Today

When it comes to being charged with a DUI, it may seem impossible to fight and prove your innocence, but with a professional defense attorney it can result in a better outcome for you. Getting legal help with your DUI can reduce the penalties and consequences that come with being convicted of a DUI. At Tesler & Werblood, we are motivated to not only understand the full scope of your situation but help you avoid a DUI conviction. Our experienced DUI lawyers genuinely care to make sure you receive the best legal defense services in Northern Virginia. Since 1977, our attorneys have provided legal assistance ranging from DWI, divorces, employment discrimination, and much more. Our team thoroughly evaluates each and every situation so that you receive the advice you need to choose the proper course of action for your DUI charge or other pressing legal problems you may be experiencing. Schedule a consultation with a Tesler & Werblood lawyer and contact us at (703) 534-9300 today.